Florida has 19 universities offering nurse practitioner programs across six NP specialties: family (FNP), psychiatric mental health (PMHNP), adult-gerontology primary care (AGPCNP), adult-gerontology acute care (AGACNP), pediatric primary care (PNP-PC), and pediatric acute care (PNP-AC). Students can enter through MSN, BSN-to-DNP, post-master’s DNP, and post-graduate certificate pathways, with one RN-to-MSN route for associate-degree nurses. The market is specialized: 10 of the 19 schools offer a single NP specialty, and only the University of Florida and the University of South Florida offer five.
Jump to: FNP (11) PMHNP (11) AGPCNP (7) AGACNP (6) PNP-PC (3) PNP-AC (1)
The sharpest differences are pathway and geography. The University of Central Florida (UCF), University of Florida (UF), Florida State University (FSU), and University of North Florida (UNF) offer no master’s-level NP entry. Resident BSN-to-DNP tuition runs from about $27K to $96K, and most programs require a Florida RN license and Florida clinical sites, often within one region of the state.
Compare Florida Nurse Practitioner Programs
| School | Specialties | Degrees | Format |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Florida (UF) Gainesville | FNP PMHNP AGACNP PNP-PC PNP-AC Dual PNP-PC/AC | DNP | Mostly Online |
| University of South Florida (USF) Tampa | FNP PMHNP AGPCNP AGACNP PNP-PC | MSN • DNP • Certificate | Hybrid |
| University of Miami Coral Gables | FNP PMHNP AGPCNP AGACNP | MSN • DNP • Certificate | Varies by specialty |
| Florida Atlantic University (FAU) Boca Raton, Davie | FNP PMHNP AGPCNP | MSN • DNP • Certificate | Varies by specialty |
| Florida Southern College (FSC) Lakeland | FNP PMHNP AGPCNP | MSN • Certificate | Hybrid |
| University of Central Florida (UCF) Orlando | FNP AGPCNP AGACNP | DNP • Certificate | Hybrid |
| Florida International University (FIU) Miami | FNP PNP-PC | MSN • DNP • Certificate | Varies by specialty |
| Florida State University (FSU) Tallahassee | FNP PMHNP | DNP • Certificate | Varies by specialty |
| University of North Florida (UNF) Jacksonville | FNP PMHNP | DNP • Certificate | Varies by specialty |
| Barry University Miami Shores | AGACNP | MSN • DNP • Certificate | Campus |
| Florida A&M University (FAMU) Tallahassee | AGPCNP | MSN • Certificate | Online |
| Florida National University (FNU) | PMHNP | Certificate | Hybrid |
| Jacksonville University (JU) | PMHNP | MSN • DNP • Certificate | Campus |
| Nova Southeastern University (NSU) Palm Beach | AGACNP | MSN • DNP • Certificate | Mostly Online |
| Palm Beach Atlantic University (PBA) | AGPCNP | MSN • DNP | Hybrid |
| South University Tampa, Orlando, West Palm Beach | FNP | MSN | Online option |
| St. Thomas University (STU) | PMHNP | MSN • Certificate | Online |
| University of St. Augustine (USAHS) | PMHNP | MSN • DNP • Certificate | Mostly Online |
| University of West Florida (UWF) Pensacola | FNP | MSN | Online |
Schools are listed by number of NP specialties offered, then alphabetically. Specialties show only programs identified in our Florida specialty research, and not every degree is available in every specialty. “Varies by specialty” marks schools where attendance differs by track; the largest gap is at UNF, where PMHNP is online and FNP is campus-based.
NP Programs by Specialty
Family Nurse Practitioner Programs
Eleven Florida universities offer FNP preparation, the widest availability of any specialty.
| School | Key Difference |
|---|---|
| Florida Atlantic | Lowest resident MSN tuition, with school-secured preceptors |
| FIU | Dual MSN that adds a Nurse Educator credential |
| Florida Southern | Assigned clinical sites; MSN or certificate only |
| Florida State | Doctorate only, including an MSN-to-DNP for certified FNPs |
| South University | Lowest documented GPA floor (2.5) |
| UCF | ~$27K resident BSN-to-DNP with assigned placements |
| UF | Doctorate only, with school-placed Florida clinicals |
| University of Miami | Three-semester full-time MSN |
| UNF | Campus-based BSN-to-DNP only |
| USF | Post-master’s DNP for certified NPs alongside MSN and BSN-to-DNP |
| West Florida | No campus visits and one flat rate for every student |
- Seven schools offer an FNP MSN. FSU, UCF, UF, and UNF route students through the doctorate or a certificate.
- Only West Florida and South University’s online option avoid campus attendance entirely.
Compare all Florida FNP programs →
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Programs
Eleven universities offer PMHNP preparation, and four of them offer no other documented NP specialty.
| School | Key Difference |
|---|---|
| Florida Atlantic | Lowest PMHNP doctorate and certificate costs |
| Florida National | Certificate only; approves out-of-state placements |
| Florida Southern | Weekly Lakeland classes, then monthly after year one |
| Florida State | Post-master’s DNP for certified NPs |
| Jacksonville University | Campus-based at all three degree levels |
| University of Miami | Hybrid certificate for board-certified NPs |
| St. Thomas | Online, with six admission terms a year |
| UF | BSN-to-DNP only, with one orientation day |
| UNF | Online post-master’s DNP and certificate for certified NPs |
| USF | Certificate only, for nationally certified APRNs |
| St. Augustine | Florida’s only RN-to-MSN entry for ADN nurses |
- Ten of eleven schools offer a PMHNP certificate, the deepest certificate market in the state.
- Only four offer a PMHNP MSN: Florida Southern, Jacksonville, St. Thomas, and St. Augustine.
Compare all Florida PMHNP programs →
Adult-Gerontology Primary Care NP Programs
Seven universities offer AGPCNP preparation, and every one ties enrollment or clinicals to Florida.
| School | Key Difference |
|---|---|
| FAMU | Only online classification; requires a named preceptor at admission |
| Florida Atlantic | Lowest resident MSN; school assigns every placement |
| Florida Southern | Assigns a site or accepts one you propose |
| Palm Beach Atlantic | Faith-based MSN with three campus sessions per semester |
| UCF | Doctorate only; certificate suspended for Fall 2026 |
| University of Miami | Three-semester full-time MSN |
| USF | Ends clinicals with a standalone 240-hour immersion |
Compare all Florida AGPCNP programs →
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care NP Programs
Six universities offer AGACNP preparation. All six offer a BSN-to-DNP, and none lists an MSN-to-DNP acute care track.
| School | Key Difference |
|---|---|
| Barry University | Accepts RN experience in any setting, not just ICU or ED |
| Nova Southeastern | Eight campus days across three intensives |
| UCF | Lowest resident DNP and certificate costs |
| UF | Strictest experience gate: a year of ICU or ED work |
| University of Miami | One-year full-time MSN |
| USF | Lowest resident MSN |
Experience requirements separate these programs more than cost, so compare them before shortlisting.
Compare all Florida AGACNP programs →
Pediatric Primary Care NP Programs
Three universities prepare primary care PNPs:
- FIU: online, with MSN, BSN-to-DNP, and Florida’s only PNP certificate. Students find their own clinical sites.
- UF: BSN-to-DNP only. It is also the only school with pediatric acute care.
- USF: lowest resident MSN and DNP tuition. Its new-graduate pathway admits nurses with under a year of RN experience.
Compare all Florida PNP programs →
Pediatric Acute Care NP Programs
UF is the only Florida school preparing acute care PNPs. It offers PNP-AC and a dual primary/acute track, both through the BSN-to-DNP, and both require a year of pediatric acute care experience. Florida has no acute care PNP master’s or certificate. Dual-track students apply after admission to UF’s DNP.
Which Florida NP School Fits Your Goals?
Widest NP specialty selection: UF and USF each offer five specialties, with different mixes. UF covers psych, adult acute care, family, and both pediatric populations, all through the doctorate. USF covers family, adult primary, adult acute, and pediatric primary care at MSN and DNP level, plus a psychiatric certificate.
Lowest-cost BSN-to-DNP: UCF charges Florida residents about $27K for its FNP, AGPCNP, and AGACNP doctorates. FAU matches that figure for PMHNP.
Lowest-cost MSN: Florida Atlantic’s FNP MSN runs about $19K for residents plus roughly $2,100 in fees, and its AGPCNP MSN about $21K.
Best for ADN-prepared nurses: The University of St. Augustine is the only Florida school documented with a direct associate-degree entry, through an RN-to-MSN in PMHNP. UCF admits associate-degree nurses who also hold a non-nursing bachelor’s into its DNP.
No campus travel: UWF (FNP), St. Thomas (PMHNP), and UNF (PMHNP) require no campus visits at all.
Strongest documented placement support: UCF assigns every clinical site and preceptor across all three of its specialties. Florida Atlantic arranges all placements and does not let students arrange their own.
Florida NP Programs by Entry Pathway
ADN or RN to NP Programs
The University of St. Augustine’s PMHNP MSN admits nurses through either BSN or RN entry. It is the only documented route for associate-degree nurses without a bachelor’s. UCF admits RNs with an associate degree or diploma plus a non-nursing bachelor’s into its DNP after three prerequisite nursing courses (9 credits).
BSN to MSN NP Programs
Fourteen universities offer a BSN-to-MSN in at least one specialty:
- FNP: 7 schools
- AGPCNP: 6 schools
- PMHNP: 4 schools
- AGACNP: 4 schools
- PNP-PC: 2 schools (FIU, USF)
- PNP-AC: none identified
USF offers four MSN specialties, and Florida Southern and the University of Miami offer three each.
BSN to DNP NP Programs
Twelve universities offer direct BSN-to-DNP entry:
| School | BSN-to-DNP Specialties |
|---|---|
| UF | FNP, PMHNP, AGACNP, PNP-PC, PNP-AC, Dual PNP |
| USF | FNP, AGPCNP, AGACNP, PNP-PC |
| Florida Atlantic | FNP, PMHNP, AGPCNP |
| UCF | FNP, AGPCNP, AGACNP |
| University of Miami | FNP, AGPCNP, AGACNP |
| FIU | FNP, PNP-PC |
| Florida State | FNP, PMHNP |
| Barry University | AGACNP |
| Jacksonville University | PMHNP |
| Nova Southeastern | AGACNP |
| UNF | FNP |
| St. Augustine | PMHNP |
The BSN-to-DNP is the only way into pediatric acute care in Florida. Palm Beach Atlantic also lists an AGPCNP DNP but does not specify its entry level.
MSN to DNP Programs
- Adding PMHNP: Florida State and UNF admit nationally certified NPs into post-master’s PMHNP doctorates.
- Same-specialty completion: Florida State offers an MSN-to-DNP for certified FNPs, and USF and UF offer post-master’s DNPs for practicing NPs.
- Not available: no acute care or pediatric MSN-to-DNP track is documented.
Post-Graduate NP Certificates
Fifteen universities offer at least one NP certificate, but depth varies by specialty:
- PMHNP: 10 schools
- FNP: 5 schools currently admitting (UCF suspended its certificate for Fall 2026)
- AGACNP: 5 schools
- AGPCNP: 4 schools currently admitting (UCF suspended its certificate for Fall 2026)
- PNP-PC: FIU only
- PNP-AC: none identified
Eligibility matters as much as availability. FAU’s PMHNP certificate accepts any accredited MSN, while its FNP certificate admits only board-certified APRNs. Barry, FAU, Florida Southern, and Miami set credits and price through an individual gap analysis.
What Do NP Programs Cost in Florida?
Published rates span about $370 to over $1,100 per credit. Where tuition depends on residency, the table shows the Florida resident rate.
| School | Published Rate per Credit | Important Cost Context |
|---|---|---|
| UCF | ~$370 | FNP, AGPCNP, AGACNP; doctorate and certificate only |
| Florida Atlantic | ~$372 | Three specialties; FNP MSN adds ~$2,100 in fees |
| USF | ~$431 | Five specialties |
| Florida State | ~$444 | FNP and PMHNP |
| UNF | Verify current rate | FNP and PMHNP tracks list different rates |
| West Florida | $500 flat | Same rate regardless of residency |
| UF | ~$533 | Five specialties; doctorate only |
| St. Thomas | $605 | PMHNP only |
| FIU | $628 | FNP rate; PNP published as program totals only |
| South University | $660 | FNP MSN only |
| Florida Southern | $680 | Three specialties; certificates priced by gap analysis |
| FAMU | $732 | Flat online rate; on-campus Florida residents pay less |
| Jacksonville University | $750 | PMHNP only |
| Palm Beach Atlantic | $850 | AGPCNP only |
| Nova Southeastern | $868–$926 | DNP rate is lower than MSN rate |
| Florida National | $900 | PMHNP certificate only |
| St. Augustine | $923–$1,189 | Rate varies by track |
| Barry University | $1,050–$1,195 | Automatic 25–30% scholarship; AGACNP fee unpublished |
| University of Miami | Block tuition | Same ~$47K MSN across FNP, AGPCNP, AGACNP |
Compare total tuition within the same pathway:
- MSN: about $19K (FAU, FNP) to $52K–$59K (St. Augustine, PMHNP).
- BSN-to-DNP: about $27K (UCF; FAU PMHNP) to $92K–$96K (St. Augustine, Miami, Barry).
- Certificate: from about $8,500 at UCF (AGACNP, certified APRNs only); several schools set the price only after admission.
Resident pricing drives most of the low end. UCF’s DNP rises to about $93K for nonresidents, while UWF’s flat-rate FNP MSN costs about $22,500 for everyone. The cheapest per-credit school is not always the cheapest route to your specialty.
Online NP Programs in Florida
Attendance requirements differ by program, not just by school.
No required campus attendance
- St. Thomas — PMHNP
- UNF — PMHNP
- West Florida — FNP
- South University — FNP online option
- FIU — PNP-PC (no campus attendance stated)
- FAMU — AGPCNP (its online MSN page lists one residency; confirm)
- Florida Atlantic and Florida State — PMHNP certificates only
Limited campus attendance
- UF — one-day orientation plus periodic Gainesville visits
- Florida State — FNP: 2–3 visits of 1–3 days; PMHNP DNP: five Tallahassee sessions
- Nova Southeastern — AGACNP: three intensives totaling eight days
- St. Augustine — PMHNP: one clinical intensive, delivered virtually
Recurring campus attendance
- Florida Atlantic — weekly sessions or monthly weekend days
- UCF — biweekly classes plus simulation days
- USF — about monthly in Tampa
- Florida Southern — weekly in Lakeland; PMHNP moves to monthly after the second semester
- Palm Beach Atlantic — three sessions per semester
- FIU — FNP campus visits in Miami
- Florida National — hybrid; cadence not published
Campus-based
- Barry University
- Jacksonville University
- University of Miami — degree programs; PMHNP certificate is hybrid
- UNF — FNP
Check the format for your specific specialty. At UNF and FIU, choosing one specialty over another changes the travel commitment entirely.
Clinical Placement and Practicum Requirements
Placement support ranges from fully assigned to fully self-arranged, and the most supportive programs usually limit where you can train.
University-arranged
- UCF — nine Central Florida counties; Florida residence required
- Florida Atlantic — South Florida county sets tied to your campus
- UF — Florida sites, possibly with in-state travel
- UNF — FNP only
Assigned, with an option to propose your own
- Florida Southern
Faculty-coordinated or assisted
- University of Miami — Miami-Dade and Broward counties
- USF — college-coordinated through a statewide preceptor network; Florida sites only
- St. Thomas — within 100 miles of your residence
Student-secured
- FAMU — named preceptor required at admission
- Barry University — school supplies a preceptor list
- FIU — PNP students find sites; FIU then contracts with them
Not clearly stated
- Nova Southeastern, Palm Beach Atlantic, South University, St. Augustine, UNF PMHNP, FIU FNP
Policy can change within one school. UNF handles FNP placements but does not state its PMHNP policy, and FIU’s pediatric students find their own sites while its FNP policy is not published.
Choosing an NP Program in Florida
- Start with specialty. FNP and PMHNP offer eleven schools each; pediatric acute care leaves one choice.
- Decide on degree level early. UCF, UF, FSU, and UNF have no MSN entry, which removes four major universities from a master’s-only search.
- Check experience requirements. Acute care tracks range from any RN setting (Barry) to a year of ICU or ED work (UF).
- Map your location to placement rules. Arranged placements usually come with a county boundary.
- Price the full pathway at your residency status. Resident and nonresident totals can differ by $60K or more.
FAQ
How many nurse practitioner schools are in Florida?
Nineteen Florida universities offer NP programs across six specialties. Ten of them offer a single specialty.
Which Florida school offers the most NP specialties?
The University of Florida and the University of South Florida each offer five. UF adds Florida’s only pediatric acute care tracks, while USF is the only one of the two with master’s-level NP programs.
Are there online NP programs in Florida?
Yes, but few require no campus visits: West Florida (FNP), St. Thomas (PMHNP), UNF (PMHNP), South University’s online FNP option, and FIU’s PNP program. Most others are hybrid, campus-based, or require short visits.
Can I become an NP in Florida with an ADN?
Yes, through the University of St. Augustine’s RN-to-MSN, which leads to PMHNP. If you also hold a bachelor’s in another field, UCF’s DNP admits you after three prerequisite nursing courses.
Which Florida schools offer BSN-to-DNP programs?
Twelve universities offer direct BSN-to-DNP entry. UF, USF, Florida Atlantic, UCF, and the University of Miami offer it in three or more specialties.
What are the lowest-cost NP options in Florida?
For residents, Florida Atlantic’s FNP MSN (about $19K) and UCF’s doctorates (about $27K) are the lowest. For nonresidents, West Florida’s flat-rate FNP MSN costs about $22,500.
Can out-of-state nurses enroll in Florida NP programs?
Rarely without a Florida RN license and Florida clinical sites. West Florida and Florida State’s FNP program accept a current U.S. RN license, and Florida National approves out-of-state placements.