Mercer University’s Georgia Baptist College of Nursing in Atlanta offers four nurse practitioner population focuses: family (FNP), psychiatric-mental health (PMHNP), adult-gerontology primary care (AGPCNP), and adult-gerontology acute care (AGACNP). Every specialty is available as an MSN, a BSN to DNP, and a post-graduate certificate, and the post-master’s DNP can add PMHNP or AGACNP.
Mercer is a private university, but its flat-rate tuition narrows the gap with public schools for full-time students. Three policies shape the decision more than any single specialty detail:
- Flat-rate pricing rewards full-time study. For 2026–27, MSN students taking 9 or more credits pay $10,795 per semester, and DNP students pay a flat $7,983 per semester.
- No experience minimum for the BSN to DNP. The doctorate admits new BSN graduates, while the MSN requires a year of RN experience.
- Faculty oversee every placement. Students are encouraged to suggest preceptors, but faculty manage and approve all clinical placements.
Quick facts
| Category | Information |
|---|---|
| Nursing School | Georgia Baptist College of Nursing |
| Location | Atlanta, GA |
| NP Specialties | FNP, PMHNP, AGPCNP, AGACNP |
| Degree Options | MSN, BSN to DNP, and post-graduate certificate (all four); post-master’s DNP adding PMHNP or AGACNP |
| Format | Hybrid: online and synchronous classes with in-person learning in Atlanta |
| Clinical Placement | Faculty oversee all placements; students may suggest preceptors |
| Entry Points | BSN (MSN, DNP); certified APRN (certificates, post-master’s DNP) |
| Minimum GPA | 3.0 (MSN); 3.2 (BSN to DNP) |
| RN License | Unencumbered Georgia RN license |
| Tuition | $1,199 per credit or $10,795 flat per semester (MSN); $7,983 flat per semester (DNP), 2026–27 |
| Accreditation | CCNE; reaccreditation review October 5–7, 2026 |
Comparing Mercer’s NP programs
The MSN takes four semesters full-time or seven part-time, with 780 clinical hours in every track. The BSN to DNP takes eight full-time semesters and adds a 240-hour immersion, for 1,020 practice hours.
| Pathway | Credits | Clinical hours | Entry |
|---|---|---|---|
| Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) | |||
| MSN | 48 | 780 | BSN and a year of RN experience |
| BSN to DNP | 76 | 1,020 | BSN; fall start |
| Post-graduate certificate | 25 | 780 | Certified APRN |
| Psychiatric-Mental Health (PMHNP) | |||
| MSN | 49 | 780 | BSN and a year of RN experience |
| BSN to DNP | 77 | 1,020 | BSN; fall start |
| Post-master’s DNP | 58 | 960 | Certified APRN; fall start |
| Post-graduate certificate | 26 | 780 | Certified APRN |
| Adult-Gerontology Primary Care (AGPCNP) | |||
| MSN | 45 | 780 | BSN and a year of RN experience |
| BSN to DNP | 73 | 1,020 | BSN; fall start |
| Post-graduate certificate | 22 | 780 | Certified APRN |
| Adult-Gerontology Acute Care (AGACNP) | |||
| MSN | 49 | 780 | BSN and a year of RN experience |
| BSN to DNP | 77 | 1,020 | BSN; fall start |
| Post-master’s DNP | 58 | 780 | Certified APRN; Georgia license; fall start |
| Post-graduate certificate | 26 | 780 | Certified APRN |
Figures come from Mercer’s program and curriculum-plan pages. Mercer has a second, older certificate page listing only FNP, AGACNP, and AGPCNP certificates with 19 to 23 credits and 600 to 660 clinical hours. The table uses the current post-graduate certificate page. Certificate practicum hours can be reduced through a gap analysis of prior clinical experience.
What stands out about Mercer’s NP programs
- Every specialty at every level. Mercer is the only Georgia school in our research offering MSN, BSN to DNP, and certificate entry in all four of its NP specialties.
- A post-master’s DNP that adds a specialty. Certified APRNs can earn a DNP while adding PMHNP or AGACNP preparation.
- High clinical volume. Every MSN track schedules 780 clinical hours, and every BSN to DNP track schedules 1,020.
- Year-round MSN starts. Mercer lists January, May, and August starts for the MSN tracks.
- Flat-rate tuition. Full-time students pay a fixed semester rate, which lowers the per-credit cost of heavier loads.
Which Mercer NP program fits your goal?
- FNP: Primary care across the lifespan, through an MSN, a DNP, or a certificate
- PMHNP: Psychiatric care through any of four pathways, including a post-master’s DNP
- AGPCNP: Primary care for adults and older adults, with the shortest MSN at 45 credits
- AGACNP: Acute care of adults, with an MSN option and a BSN to DNP that requires no experience minimum
Family Nurse Practitioner
Credits 25–76 · Clinical hours 780–1,020 · MSN · BSN to DNP · Certificate
The FNP MSN runs 48 credits with 780 clinical hours, including in-person labs in Atlanta. The 76-credit BSN to DNP adds a 240-hour immersion. The certificate runs 25 credits.
Mercer states that preceptors must meet program qualifications shared with students in advance. Graduates can sit for ANCC or AANPCB certification.
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
Credits 26–77 · Clinical hours 780–1,020 · MSN · BSN to DNP · Post-master’s DNP · Certificate
PMHNP has the most entry points at Mercer. The 49-credit MSN can be finished in 17 months full-time across four consecutive semesters. The 77-credit BSN to DNP runs eight semesters with 1,020 practice hours.
Certified APRNs can add PMHNP through a 58-credit post-master’s DNP with 960 practice hours, or a 26-credit certificate. Graduates can sit for ANCC or AANPCB certification.
Adult-Gerontology Primary Care
Credits 22–73 · Clinical hours 780–1,020 · MSN · BSN to DNP · Certificate
The AGPCNP MSN is Mercer’s shortest at 45 credits, and the BSN to DNP runs 73 credits. Mercer says faculty guide students and assist in securing clinical placements. Graduates can sit for ANCC or AANPCB certification.
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care
Credits 26–77 · Clinical hours 780–1,020 · MSN · BSN to DNP · Post-master’s DNP · Certificate
AGACNP is offered as a 49-credit MSN, a 77-credit BSN to DNP, a 58-credit post-master’s DNP, and a 26-credit certificate. The BSN to DNP requires no minimum work experience, unusual for acute care. The post-master’s AGACNP DNP requires a Georgia RN license.
MSN graduates sit for the ANCC exam; DNP graduates can choose ANCC or AACN certification.
Doctor of Nursing Practice
Mercer’s DNP has three entry points.
- BSN to DNP: all four specialties, eight full-time semesters (two years), fall start only; a 3.2 GPA and no work-experience minimum; an interview and a scholarly writing sample
- Post-master’s DNP with a new specialty: PMHNP (58 credits, 960 hours) or AGACNP (58 credits, 780 hours), six full-time semesters, for certified APRNs
- Post-master’s DNP, generalist: a doctorate without a new population focus
The post-master’s DNP is delivered online with synchronous and asynchronous classes. BSN to DNP applications open August 15, with an April 1 priority deadline and a July 1 final deadline.
Post-graduate certificates
Mercer’s post-graduate certificates cover all four specialties.
- Eligibility: a graduate nursing degree, APRN certification, and an unencumbered Georgia APRN license
- Length: three semesters, starting in fall
- Clinical hours: up to 780, with required hours set through a gap analysis
- Financial aid: Mercer states that certificates do not qualify for financial assistance
Clinical placement
Mercer describes faculty as overseeing all clinical placements. Students are encouraged to take an active role by identifying potential preceptors through colleagues, community contacts, or professional organizations, and all preceptors must meet program qualifications.
Mercer does not publish geographic limits on clinical sites. Its admission requirement of a Georgia RN license effectively ties most students to Georgia.
The practical trade-off: students get faculty-managed placements, but should still expect to help identify preceptors.
Format and campus requirements
| Program | Format | Attendance |
|---|---|---|
| MSN (all four tracks) | Hybrid | Online and in-person learning in Atlanta, including labs |
| BSN to DNP | Hybrid | Synchronous online classes plus in-person campus learning |
| Post-master’s DNP | Online | Synchronous and asynchronous online classes |
| Post-graduate certificates | Not stated | Mercer does not publish certificate format |
Mercer does not state how often students must be on campus. Fall and spring terms run 16 weeks, and summer runs 10 weeks.
Admissions
- MSN: a BSN, a 3.0 GPA (conditional admission from 2.75), an unencumbered Georgia RN license, and a year of RN experience
- BSN to DNP: a BSN, a 3.2 GPA (conditional admission from 3.0), a Georgia RN license, and no minimum experience
- Materials: three references, including one from a nurse with a master’s degree or higher, a cover letter, and an interview
- MSN deadlines: April 1 priority and July 1 final for fall; October 1 and November 1 for spring; March 1 and April 1 for summer
Mercer’s admission pages do not mention the GRE.
Tuition
Mercer charges flat semester rates for full-time loads, so heavier semesters cost less per credit.
| MSN, per credit (2026–27) | $1,199 |
| MSN, flat rate per semester (9+ credits) | $10,795 |
| DNP, flat rate per semester | $7,983 |
| DNP, per credit (under 6 credits) | $1,330.50 |
| Non-degree graduate nursing, per credit | $1,159 |
| Facility and technology fee | $28/credit, max $250/semester |
| Certification prep fee, per semester (MSN and DNP) | $500 |
| Pathway | Basis | Estimated Tuition |
|---|---|---|
| MSN, full-time | 4 semesters, mostly at the flat rate | About $42,000–$43,200 |
| MSN, part-time | 45–49 credits at $1,199 | About $54,000–$58,800 |
| BSN to DNP, full-time | 8 semesters at $7,983 | About $63,900 |
| Post-master’s DNP | 6 semesters at $7,983 | About $47,900 |
| Post-graduate certificate | 22–26 credits at $1,159 | About $25,500–$30,100 |
- Full-time saves money: the flat rate covers 9 or more MSN credits, so a full-time MSN costs thousands less than the same credits part-time.
- Fees add up: the $500 certification prep fee each semester adds about $2,000 to a four-semester MSN.
- Certificates likely bill at the non-degree rate, and they do not qualify for financial aid.
These are NPPrograms.com estimates built from Mercer’s 2026–27 rates. Mercer does not publish program totals, and its cost-of-attendance pages still show some 2025–26 figures. See Mercer’s tuition rates page for current figures.
Accreditation and certification
The Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) accredits Mercer’s BSN, MSN, and DNP programs. Mercer’s BSN, MSN, DNP, and post-graduate certificate programs have a CCNE review scheduled for October 5–7, 2026. Mercer University is institutionally accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
Certification follows the population focus: ANCC or AANPCB for FNP, PMHNP, and AGPCNP, and ANCC or AACN for AGACNP. Mercer does not publish certification pass rates.
State authorization
Mercer’s licensure disclosure, updated July 2026, states that its NP programs meet educational requirements for licensure in all 50 states and DC. New York requires an additional prescribing-law course. In practice, the Georgia RN license required for admission is the bigger limit for out-of-state applicants.
Who is Mercer best for?
May be a strong fit for
- Atlanta-area nurses who want faculty-managed placements
- New BSN graduates pursuing a DNP in any of four specialties
- Nurses who want a January or May MSN start
- Certified APRNs adding PMHNP or AGACNP with a doctorate
- Students who can study full-time and use the flat rate
- Nurses who want 780 or more clinical hours
Compare other options if
- You need public-university tuition
- You live outside Georgia without a Georgia RN license
- You need a program with no campus visits
- You want pediatric or neonatal preparation
- You need a part-time BSN to DNP
- You need federal aid for a certificate
Compare more NP programs in Georgia
- Augusta University - Augusta
- Brenau University - Norcross
- Emory University - Atlanta
- Georgia College & State University - Milledgeville
- Georgia Southern University - Statesboro
- Georgia State University - Atlanta
- South University - Savannah
- Valdosta State University - Valdosta